Introductory Blog Post

My name is Courtney Katch, an upcoming senior at Hempfield High School in Landisville, PA. I am hoping to attend Elizabethtown College next year with a major in biology, on a pre-medical track. I am taking two classes this summer to introduce myself to college-level coursework, while gaining college credit.

I am taking this course to complete a required course for my major. Also, I am considering obtaining a minor in psychology, and I am hoping that this course will give me a clear response as to if I should do so.

I have limited background in psychology, although I am very interested in the subject. I have taken Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, and Child Development in high school, which touched upon psychology.

When I hear the word psychology, I think of the science behind emotions and daily processes.

I am looking forward to learning about mental illness, because it is something that has affected by life. Since I am pursuing a career in medicine, I am interested in neuro-imaging, and psychiatric medication.

While looking through the course schedule, I was delighted to see how much I was interested in. I am least excited to learn about the scientific method, and why research design matters. Although these concepts are important, I am eager to dive in to material that is specific to psychology. Another least interesting concept is personality and culture, because it is less intriguing than other topics, like mood disorders and treatment.

At the end of this course, I hope to have a clear understanding about the basics of psychology, because I am taking psychopathology in the fall. I hope these courses let me know if I should to follow through with a psychology minor.

One thought on “Introductory Blog Post

  1. Welcome to the course Courtney! What a good idea to “try on” college courses in high school, especially at a school you’d like to attend. Intro to Psychology is a great place to see if a minor would interest you, though with your plan to be pre-med, you may also be interested in our new neuroscience major. It was just approved this spring and we’re really excited about it. You can learn more about it here: https://catalog.etown.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=20&poid=2434&returnto=1017. I’m glad to hear you’re excited about so many topics on the schedule and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on what we cover.

    I also teach psychopathology, so it will be nice to meet you in person in the fall!

    Like

Leave a comment