Chapter 3 First Impression

Recently, I have been desiring to alter my sleep schedule, and hopefully this chapter will give me tips on how to do so. On the typical school night, I sleep from 12 to 6am, since I always have 8am classes. During the morning, I am energized and have minimal trouble paying attention. In the afternoon, I struggle to stay awake and am ready for my nap. I take a nap from around 3 to 5pm. This gives me enough energy to study, exercise, go to club meetings, or events in the evening. Although I get 8 hours of sleep total, I think that the breakdown of those hours are unhealthy. I am tired throughout the day, so I think that if I had all eight hours at once, I would be more energized.

When I saw this prompt, it reminded me of one image that has gone viral on social media. It says that you can only pick two of the following: good grades, a social life, or sleep. This predicament is something I have been navigating, and I am sure many other college students have been as well. I believe that it is possible for college students to get at least seven hours of sleep, but it may involve sacrifice to do so. A student may have to cut back on work hours, or limit how often they socialize in order to get sufficient sleep. In my case, I will not go to sleep until I am 100% confident that I am prepared for the next day of classes. After many late nights, I was urged to make a study schedule. Each day, I set aside two hours to be focused on my schoolwork. This new implementation has caused me to let go of a major commitment, but I do not regret it because I am now getting 6 hours of sleep throughout the night, and 2 hours during the day. Since I have prioritized by sleep, I am a happier person and have better grades. I would advise any student to make their sleep a priority.

Leave a comment